What to do if you’ve received licensing action in one state and you’ve failed to report it to another state. Attorney representing physicians and nurses with multi state licensing issues and Department of Health complaints for failure to report to Michigan or Florida.
Hello and thank you for stopping by. As a professional licensing attorney for doctors and nurses and other health care professionals, I’m often asked what to do when you’ve received a licensing action in one state and you have failed to report it to another state.
First of all, remember that most states require you to report licensing actions, even within other states, within 30 days. But, if you haven’t done that, contact a professional licensing attorney first.
First there is the issue of corresponding penalties. Whatever the sanction was in the state that you were initially sanctioned in, may apply to the new state or there may be more significant penalties. And then there is the issue of fines and costs. They can be significant. Anywhere from $1,000 to $2,000/$3,000. And of course we have the issues of suspension and revocation.
These are all very complicated issues and require a professional licensing attorney to work through.
Remember, if you’re sanctioned in one state but your licensed in four or five states, you really have four problems because you have to report that to all states and all states will treat it differently.