Being charged with a crime and going through the criminal justice process can be very stressful. Often the outcome is not what you were looking for; however, you are relieved the matter is over. You want to put the whole thing behind you and get back to work. Many health care providers ignore the duty to report all criminal convictions to the state licensing board.
Failure to report a criminal conviction to the appropriate licensing board will result in additional penalties and fines. In Florida, you must report the conviction on-line within 15 days and in writing within 30 days from the date of the conviction. In Michigan, you must report the conviction in writing within 30 days of the conviction.
If you failed to report a conviction timely or receive a letter from the licensing board questioning a prior conviction, call us at Chapman Law Group. We will assist you in drafting a proper response with as many mitigating factors as possible to minimize the potential penalty. Most state licensing boards are offended when a licensee is perceived to have lied to the board or withheld information from the board. It is important to seek counsel before responding to the licensing board.
Chapman Law Group has the experience, the resources, and reputable experts for your license defense. Each lawyer in our professional licensing defense practice group works with physicians, nurses, pain management clinics, pharmacists and other licensed healthcare professionals. We serve clients in Michigan (Detroit, Troy, Dearborn, Ann Arbor, Grand Rapids and Lansing) and Florida (Miami, West Palm Beach, Orlando, Tampa and Jacksonville).
Send this to a friend